From a Black Sky is a 3-act opera featuring four soloists, a large chorus, a children’s choir and a teenage vocal ensemble.  During the compositional process of From a Black Sky, France nad librettist Helen Nourse were fortunate to benefit from several developmental workshops. In 2010 the work, known at the time as Playing with Fire, was selected by Victorian Opera and Chamber Made Opera, as part of their inaugural program, NOVA (New Opera Ventures Australia). Two subsequent workshops at the Street Theatre, Canberra, in 2011 and 2012 were pivotal in stabilising the work into a cohesive dramatic piece and facilitated the refinement of From a Black Sky into its final state.




Flight Memory, libretto by Alana Valentine, is a Jazz lyric suite that tells the story of Australian inventor, David Warren. Through song, his genius is remembered, his suffering and ridicule felt and his contribution to aviation safety honoured.  A staged work with spoken word and narration, “Flight Memory” comprises 10 discrete songs:

  • Crystal Set
  • That’s Not Why
  • Beginnings
  • Fatal Fog
  • Stones to Bread
  • The Family Jewels
  • Corner of Hell
  • Negativity Rap
  • Whispered Truth
  • Red Tape Reg
  • Voices of the Dead

Directed by Caroline Stacey, The Street Theatre, Canberra, Flight Memory received its world premiere in 2019. The multi-award nominated Jazz song suite featured renowned vocalists Liam Budge, Leisa Keen and award-winning Michelle Nicolle.